Nursing Student - Graves' Disease and Thyroid Discussion - Living with Graves Disease

Advertisement

Photo

Nursing Student

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Nursing student CR

Nursing student CR

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 April 2020 - 05:25 PM

Advertisement

Hello,

my name is Brett I am a nursing student at college of the Redwoods in northern California.

I am posting today as part of an assignment that was created by my instructor to help us gain knowledge on what it is like living with Graves Disease.

Is there any one that would be willing to share there story with me?

Advertisement

#2 mmztcass

mmztcass

Community Manager

• Community Managers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3929 posts

Posted 02 April 2020 - 05:40 PM

Hello Brett:

Thank you for asking us to share our stories of our Graves' Disease.  I will ask the people on the forum to correspond with you privately by PM.

Anyone wishing to correspond with Brett of your stories, please use the PM to get in touch.  

Thanks and {{{hugs}}}

#3 Allies

Allies

Very Prolific Member

• Community Managers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 691 posts

Posted 02 April 2020 - 06:16 PM

Hi Brett :)

What a great assignment topic. I'm glad that there's an understanding in some areas of the medical field that Grave's is something we tend to have to live with rather than something that is treated and goes away.

What sort of things would you like to know?
Physical symptoms?
Psychological impacts?
Social impacts?
Treatment choices we have made?
Doctor and endocrinologist experiences? (That might open a can of worms! :) )
How different people might attempt to deal with the underlying autoimmunity?
How the Grave's can change presentation over time? (I.E. it can have hypothyroid phases or even result in permanent hypothyroidism)

There may be other things you would like us to comment on, let us know :) I'm happy to respond :D
Cheers
Allies

#4 Nursing student CR

Nursing student CR

• Members
  • Pip