Collagen Supplements And Graves - Graves' Disease and Thyroid Discussion - Living with Graves Disease

Advertisement

Photo

Collagen Supplements And Graves

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 GymBunny

GymBunny

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 26 April 2020 - 11:46 AM

Advertisement
Hi, Im a newbie so hope this is going in the right place. Ive had Graves disease four or five times in my life, since I was 16 years old. Each time it was treated with medication. My last bout was about five years ago and Ive been stable and off medication for the last couple of years. Ive been fitter and healthier than ever in that time though I have had other health issues, namely premature ovarian insufficiency. A couple of weeks ago I started taking collagen supplements as Id been told they were good for joints, gut health, skin etc. and as my production has fallen earlier than normal (due to the POI) I thought it was a good idea. As with everything I take I did my research and found no contraindications for those supplements, though one or two of the brands claim they can boost metabolism. The last two/three days by resting pulse has increased from around 50-54 (standard for me) to around 70-80. Weirdly when I am asleep it is down in the 50s still (I have an Apple Watch so know its an accurate measure). Does anyone know if the collagen supplements could be responsible? Anyone ever heard of them causing a relapse? Or is it just coincidence? Im rather nervous of going to the doctors given the current situation, so thought Id try this avenue first. Im really stopped taking them as a precaution but they were beneficial so would like to be able to continue with them if I can. Any thoughts or advice gladly accepted.

Advertisement

#2 mmztcass

mmztcass

Community Manager

• Community Managers
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 3916 posts

Posted 26 April 2020 - 02:16 PM

Hi GymBunny and welcome: