Told To Have Rai But Dont Want To - Personal Stories - Living with Graves Disease

Advertisement

Photo

Told To Have Rai But Dont Want To

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 chrisharry

chrisharry

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 08 January 2012 - 12:30 PM

Advertisement

I am a 44 year old male diagnosed with graves disease 19 months ago.
I have never been ill before and live a fairly active lifestyle, however 3 years ago whilst on holiday in spain the overactive thyroid started playing its hand.
Buying two pints at the poolside bar, my hands started shaking that much the glasses where half empty by the time I got to the table, to much sun I thought!
It got that bad I had to send my partner to the bar , even thinking about going to the bar made me feel shaky.

Back home and back to work as an electrician my fellow workers would comment on my shaky hands, then people would start saying your losing weight.
I went from 12 to 9 stone and forever felt nervous, time to visit the doctor.

The doctor diagnosed overactive thyroid and referred me to the local thyroid clinic.

They started me on 40mg Carbimazole and after 2 months went back to normal, then I began feeling tired and sluggish and my weight went up to 13 stone, I had gone underactive,after getting my bloods done every 6 weeks I eventually settled on 20mg.
The clinic asked if I would like surgery or RAI, I dont fancy surgery so I said RAI.

After looking on the internet and learning how the thyroid works and what it does and learning about how RAI works I dont want either of these.